A Zen Mala for my father’s birthday.

My father and I study and identify with the Buddhist philosophy, and this year for his birthday (which just happens to land on Father’s Day this time around) I made him a Mala. With 108 wood beads with sodalite markers and a a sodalite guru bead. Zen Malas are set up with 2 sets of 7 beads, 2 sets of 14 beads and one set of 66 beads with markers placed inbetween. As illustrated below.

image

I carefully strung the beads then made tassel with embroidery thread.

image

image

I even decorated a box!

image

image

I am very proud of this project. I cannot wait to give it to him.

Leave a Reply

